New Year’s Resolutions?

I know most people are flocking to the gym right now, but January is the hardest month for me to be a motivated runner. I can handle the treadmill and I can handle the cold, but the dark mornings and early sunsets and the wind? Those are killing me!

I know the right things to do — set goals, vary your routine, just get out there and do it! But I am still unmotivated and can think of any excuse to delay my runs. Today’s excuse was writing a blog and that I was going to run out of time to get a good run in outside before needing to shower for work. Right. Yes, lame. Okay, I will go to the gym tonight after work (which is usually when I’m most motivated), but I know I need to get my runs in outside too. Especially when it’s 42 degrees out which feels like a heat wave!

Thankfully, the weather for the next week is looking much better! See all those suns? And next week is my first week of training for the Geist Half Marathon on May 22nd. I think I need a schedule, a race ahead of me, and a chance to see improvement. That is about the only thing that keeps me moving this time of year when it’s cold and gray outside.

This post isn’t very encouraging, but I think what I really want to say with it is that everyone has a season where things aren’t quite firing on all cylinders. I’m coming to understand that is okay and I don’t have to feel guilty when I’m not running. I am so thankful for grace in all areas of me life, even running!

2 responses to “New Year’s Resolutions?

  1. Hah, I know what grey and windy means.. I live in Cleveland 😉 But keep up, it’s so worth it! I’m getting ready for lots of races too, so I’m totally with you!

    • Cleveland! Yeah, that’s a winter for sure! But beautiful summers is what a friend of mine says who lives there. Glad to know I’m not the only one struggling. 🙂

Leave a Reply

