Celebrating God’s Word

The final week of The Seed Company’s home school curriculum about Bible translation celebrates the difference God’s Word makes in children’s lives around the world. Read on!

“My name is Isbel and I’m 12 years old. I live in Ethiopia and speak a language called Gamo. A few months ago, a truck came roaring into our village, kicking up dusty swirls across our dirt roads. The people inside the truck called out in Gamo, “Come to the village center at sundown for a special meeting!” I ran home to tell my mother.

At sundown people poured in from every direction. My friends and I found a spot to sit down where we could see best. Feeling the cool night air, I hugged my knees to my chest. All of a sudden, a bright light shot out of the dark and focused on the white bed sheet that hung in front of us. As I looked above to the white screen, I could see people acting out a story. I gasped at first, but then I got used to it. Now imagine my shock when the people on screen spoke to us in our very own Gamo language!

As the movie continued, we got to know a man named Jesus, who lived in a dusty place a lot like my village. He did wonderful miracles, like taking sickness away and pulling demons out of people. He even raised a dead boy to life! I’ve never heard of anyone else doing that.

But as we watched, some evil men arrested Jesus. I cried out as they mashed sharp thorns into His head. Blood ran down His face, and tears ran down mine. Jesus’ enemies pushed Him down onto a piece of wood and pounded giant nails through His hands. People all around me cried loudly and threw their hands into the air! How could those awful people treat such a kind man this way?

But I have to tell you what happened next on screen: Jesus came to life again! Then everybody stopped crying to clap and cheer.

I found out when those wicked people hurt Jesus, it wasn’t because He did wrong. Instead, He died because of what I did wrong! Now our people are writing down God’s Words in a Gamo book. I can’t wait to learn more about God’s amazing Son, Jesus.”

When you sponsor a runner or sponsor a verse for the Rutara, you will help them know the Savior Jesus Christ too.

Leave a Reply

