One thing I do…press on toward the goal

Philippians 3:13-14
Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize
of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.

A week ago I started thinking about “one” things, especially the “one” things mentioned in the Bible. This passage from Paul is one of the first that came to my mind with that phrase.

Something I noticed for the first time is how similar the words “forgetting” and “forgiveness” have in common. Moving on, moving forward, forgetting what is behind us only happens with forgiveness that comes from Christ. And “straining” is such a powerful word. I imagine a horse straining against the gate, just waiting for it to open and the race to begin. Or a runner, pushing harder, thrusting their chest forward to hit the finish line tape first. There is such longing in that word, such desire for what is ahead.

And in this case, what lies ahead is the promise of Christ and our heavenly calling. Christ in heaven; the one thing to which we’re to look.

Leave a Reply

