Melody’s Fitness Philosophy

As I’ve been emailing with our new T1V runner Melody, she shared the following very wise and encouraging words:

“My fitness philosophy: I exercise and I eat right because all of my worship comes out of this body, and God is worthy of all the worship I can give Him–and more. That gives me the inspiration to roll out of bed and run at 6 a.m., but it also frees me from pursuing a certain weight, look, speed or distance. A wrong pursuit could lead to addiction. This pursuit leads me to fix my eyes on Jesus (Heb 12:1-2).

It’s a grace-based goal that doesn’t condemn me when I fail or frustrate me when worshiping God means I don’t get to exercise or eat right. It’s a freedom that brings me joy, especially on the hard days when I long for the day that I won’t need this body to worship God anymore.”

Awesome and convicting words!

One response to “Melody’s Fitness Philosophy

  1. Great perspective and very liberating!

Leave a Reply

