Happy Running to Austin at the Philly Marathon

T1V runner Austin is running the Philadelphia Marathon today! (And his birthday was yesterday!) Here was a note from him this week that just shows his amazing mind-set for this adventure!

I was studying last Friday morning for a lesson I was teaching Sunday on Elijah and the drought (1 Kings 18:16-45). I was having some doubts about the marathon because my muscles where really tight Thursday evening. But God, being faithful, spoke to me through 1 Kings 18:46 and reassured me. 🙂 It was all part of His plan because when I taught Sunday, I showed one of the OneVerse videos… I then asked the question, “Do you believe God speaks to people today?” Most said yes, and then I said I believe He does and shared the above story and how I took that as God speaking to me telling me not to worry about the marathon. I said that I believe the Bible is the primary way God speaks to us. Then I took the blank Bible and said this is what a lot of the world has: nothing…

In that moment it hit me like never before: there are people all over the world that have no clue there is a God who loves them, a God who said to them “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.” And as the writer of Hebrews says in verse 6, “So we say with confidence, ‘The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid. What can mere mortals do to me?'” This breaks my heart!!!

I am more passionate about Bible translation then ever and I look forward to seeing how God will work in and through me to be a blessing to OneVerse.

Good luck, Austin! May many hear from your efforts and many more join us as we champion this much-needed cause!

Leave a Reply

