Treadmill aka Dreadmill?

We’ve had quite a bit of snow in Indianapolis in the past few weeks. Also, the temperature has often hovered under 10 degrees. So not only is it freezing half the time, the other half the time there’s so much snow on the sidewalks or side roads that running outside has been kind of tough. That’s led me to the treadmill, otherwise known as the dreadmill.

BUT the treadmill has two helpful features.
1.  Consistent pace: For speed work, the treadmill is really fantastic. I like to do a mile warm-up, followed by half mile repeats (4 right now), then a mile cool down. How do you figure out what pace to do? For me, I think about how fast I want to do my next marathon, which is 3 hours and 40 minutes. I do my half mile repeats in 3 minutes and 40 seconds. This pace is about a minute faster than what I’d run the marathon in, but it helps prepare me for speed conditions. If you’re training for a half marathon, double the time to figure out your marathon pace, then swap the times for minutes instead of hours!

2. Incline: Using incline to my advantage also helps prepare me for when I’m back outside. A treadmill isn’t actually level ground, so either way you should put the incline at 1%. Moving the incline up or using the hills feature will help simulate a great outdoor workout, especially handy if you live in a flat state like I do!

Treadmills are definitely not ideal and I’d much rather be outside, but if I have no other choice, they can be pretty handy!

Leave a Reply

