You’re Not Alone

This blog comes courtesy of The Seed Company blog. I read this post last week and thought it was really encouraging, especially when I look at the daunting length of the final Old Testament books I have to read (Jeremiah and Ezekiel), the books I hoped to have finished by the end of 2010. What matters is my heart searching God and studying as much as I can as often as I can, not the pace I get through the Bible. Anyway…to the post!

I want to let you in on a secret. I work for a ministry that supports the work of Bible translation. I was the son of a youth pastor for most of my life. And sometimes I still struggle to keep up with my daily time reading the Scriptures – perhaps like you do.

We all know that being in a ministry career doesn’t make it easier to follow God. But sometimes we still assume it does, in the back of our brains. I know sometimes I have. “They’re a pastor. They are way more godly than a writer like me.”

That kind of thinking comes with a price.

  1. If we think professional Christians are more godly by default, we don’t have to be. The pastor can tell me what I need to know. I don’t need to try.
  2. If we think professional Christians are more godly by default, then there is no hope for me to figure God’s truth out in the way they can. I don’t know Greek or Hebrew!
  3. If we think professional Christians are more godly by default, we’ve lost touch with Scripture. Paul reminds us in Philippians 3:8-10 that he would give up all his pedigree and training for a deep relationship with God.

The good news is that God’s desire is for you to have personal access to God’s truth and love found in the Scriptures. Today, you can open up the Scriptures on your computer, on your desk or on your phone and restart your journey to honor God more.

These are some great resources if you’re looking for some help:

Leave a Reply

