8 Workout Mistakes You Probably Make

As I’ve mentioned before, I started working out with a trainer at the gym in January. It’s been a great use of time and money and I’ve really benefiting from it, not only with my running but through overall fitness. My brother is a HUGE weigh-lifter, like practically a body builder. He’s enormous. Every time he’s at the gym, usually in a Purdue or Michigan shirt so those are his undergrad and grad schools, he gets asked within about 5 minutes if he played college football. One of his pet peeves is when people make mistakes at the gym. Not because he’s Mr. Perfect, but because he knows it will hurt them in the long run either by muscle injury or imbalance. So I’ve tried to be careful in my new endeavor to have proper form and ask questions to make sure I’m doing things correctly.

Recently, Yahoo! Health had a great article about eight common work-out mistakes. I’ve listed them here, but if you find you make any of these, you should probably read the entire article! 🙂

  1. Not eating enough
  2. Not resting enough
  3. Not incorporating resistance training
  4. Slacking on technique and form
  5. Not varying the types of work-outs
  6. Setting unrealistic goals
  7. Not stretching
  8. Not completely focusing on your workout

And on that note, I should go stretch because that is my biggest area of weakness!

Leave a Reply

