When Goals Collide

I’ve had several epiphanies lately; this one has to do with goals. One of my goals for this year is that my first year of teaching will be a great one, that I will do my best and enjoy it. Another goal I have is to run a half marathon in 1:45. However, at this point in the school year (7 weeks left!!!), I am exhausted! Okay so maybe spring break will be that shot of adrenaline to get me to the end, but I’m just wiped.

And I realized that part of growing up is realizing that sometimes I can have several great goals but they can be in conflict with each other. I cannot be both a great first-year teacher AND take my running to a really new level. So part of setting goals is also learning how to balance them and let each goal have a time to get its own focus. Even being willing to let go of one goal to accomplish the other.

Thankfully, the school year is almost over and we’ll see how my runs continue. It seems like each time I go out, I’m really having to push myself so that each run has a great risk of failing to meet my goal pace. But then a run like today’s will come along, be great, be faster than I needed it to be, and feel like a perfect effort. Hopefully, I’ll be able to accomplish both, but if push comes to shove, in this case, the teaching goal wins.

What about you? Do you struggle with balancing your goals? How do you decide which one wins? I’m welcoming input on this!

One response to “When Goals Collide

  1. Hi Allison,
    Yesterday a minister said to me, “I am working at saying yes to fewer things, and saying a deeper yes to the things I want to focus on.” I thought that was a good way to look at it!

Leave a Reply

