Doodling Verses

Jill Davis is planning a really great birthday party on 12-12-12. And you’re invited. For each day leading up to her 28th birthday, she is doodling one verse of Scripture on her Year27 blog. She writes, “I’m a graphic designer — I like to doodle and I like to read my Bible.”

You can follow her journey and be encouraged. But what is that she really wants for her birthday bash?

Scripture translation.

That’s right. Jill writes on her blog: “Rejoice always! What do you have to rejoice about this week? I’m rejoicing for 30 verses of scripture translated so far! YEAR 27 is going great. Let’s keep going!!”

Johanna Fenton: Jill, tell me how this all came together.

Jill Davis: I became acquainted with OneVerse in a couple of different ways. A few years back, our college ministry in Waco, Texas, adopted a couple of books of the Bible through OneVerse. Then I was also at Passion 2011 when everyone there translated the New Testament for the Koso people. So it was pretty cool to see thousands of people come together to translate the New Testament for the Koso. It’s really powerful to think about how the Bible will transform that people group in Africa.

Jill DavisSo when I realized that my birthday’s on 12-12-12, I thought, I should have a big party that day. But then I began thinking, What can I do to do something … cool? [Laughs.] You know, how can I help OneVerse? So I started praying.

And I’ve been doing these doodles where I draw verses for a couple years. Every once in a while I have people who say, “Those are so cool. You should do more of those.”

So I got this idea: I want to help translate Scripture, and I want to do it before my birthday in 2012. I want to have a big birthday party, and I want to ask people to give a lot of money that I know I can’t give on my own.

I was so nervous even to call you guys and tell you I have this idea. I just thought for sure that this wouldn’t work. They going to have a reason why I can’t do this.

JF: I’m so glad that’s not the case.

JD: Well it didn’t happen that way.

JF: So you’ve launched out, and now you’re posting every single day. How’s that been going?

JD: You know, it’s fun to do the verses every day, and it’s really interesting to see some of the people who are getting involved. But some days are harder than other days. Like some days I’ll be really busy with my graphic design business, and I won’t have a lot of time. So it’s the last thing I do before I go to bed. Or I’ll wake up at 5 o’clock in the morning and do it.

JF: Wow. And how has doing this impacted you personally?

JD: Well, I’m just learning to trust the Lord every day. Some days I get really nervous about putting myself out there. The first time someone gave a verse, I read the Facebook message, I looked up at my husband and I just started crying. I said, “This is happening!”


With Valentine’s Day around the corner, you can get involved in a special, fun way. Just sponsor one verse of Scripture for the Ehty people for $26. Then download your FREE, printable Valentine’s Day card designed by Jill Davis to give to your loved one. Inside it reads: “I sponsored Bible translation in your honor with OneVerse.” Click here to get started.

*Blog reposted from The Seed Company

3 responses to “Doodling Verses

  1. Thank you Team OneVerse for posting this! You guys rock!

  2. Pingback: A missing element of a small group … « living3368

Leave a Reply

