Hear, O Israel

“Hear, O Israel: The LORD our God, the LORD is one.Love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength.” Deuteronomy 6:4-5

Last weekend I went to a one-day women’s retreat where we were reminded how often we spend time talking — to others, to God, to ourselves — and how infrequently we truly listen. I was really convicted about hearing God’s voice and putting myself in places where I can actually stop and LISTEN. God calls us to listen again and again, but I usually just keep going on with my busy day and don’t give God a chance to speak into my life.

So what am I supposed to listen to or for? In Luke 11, Jesus says, “Blessed rather are those who hear the word of God and obey it.” Listening to God comes by reading his Word and letting the Holy Spirit connect it to my life. Then, obedience is how I respond and the only time I should probably be talking and doing at all!

Listening to God allows me to also tell others about what God has done for me. Psalm 66:16 says, “Come and hear, all you who fear God; let me tell you what he has done for me.” When I hear the Lord, I am more prepared to share my story with others.

This is my reminder to myself to listen, to read, to really hear God and his word this week.

And another reminder that for over 2000 groups of people, there is no way to hear God’s voice because they don’t have any or all of the Bible in their own language. Join Team OneVerse or support Bible translation through The Seed Company or Wycliffe today to ensure everyone has a chance to hear God’s voice.

Leave a Reply

