Love the Lord Your God With Your Mind: Memorizing

When I was a kid, I spent a lot of time memorizing Bible verse. Okay, most of this was because of Awana. I’ve always been pretty motivated by competition and goals, so seeing how quickly I could make it through my Sparks books was all I needed to get me going. Throw in a some Shares (fake Awana money) to spend at the monthly store and I was set! As an adult (and a teacher), I now also realize that I’m a verbal and musical/rhythmic learner so memorizing words to a song or with a beat was extremely easy.

However, after about 7th grade, I was too “cool” for Awana and after graduation from high school, I rarely had need to memorize anything. Thankfully, the verses I learned as a kid are floating around in the corners of my brain, popping up  unexpectedly when I need them in conversations or more often, showing up via a song in my head when I wake up! But I’m not actively using my mind to memorize now and that’s a serious lost opportunity.

Why is it worth it to memorize?
God has a few answers! First, Hebrews 4:12 describes the power God’s word has. The author writes, “For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.” God’s word convicts us of sin, reaching deeper into us than we even dare to go ourselves. It keeps us accountable to truth and clean before God.

Second, Isaiah 55:10-11 indicates that God’s Word has power and purpose. Every time it goes forward, it does so with his power behind it and will accomplish his purpose. (“..so is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.”) Knowing God’s word means I can bring it to mind at any occasion and God will use it in my life and in the lives of others.

Scripture Memory Tips
Convinced? Yeah, me too. I need to get back to it. How do we become better at remembering when we’re busy, getting older, and forget where we park our cars? Try out some of these ideas!

*Type it or write it until it sticks. Practice typing the verse on your computer, erasing it, and re-typing it until you’ve memorized it. You can do this in one sitting!

*Post it! Write the verse on note cards and post them all over the place! Post on your computer, or in your car, bathroom, kitchen, pretty much anywhere you’ll see it over and over again!

*Create a note card spiral that keeps all the verses in one place. Review this verse listing often. Once you feel you have a mastery of one verse, turn to the next verse, then move to the next when you’re ready. Keep adding verses as you go, repeating with the first through the last each time you review. Keep going and before you know it, you’ve memorized them all!

*Say the Scripture out loud. Practice saying parts of the verse over and over until it sticks.

*Pray God’s Word. Pray it so you live it, think it, see it happen, and are transformed by it!

*Don’t give up. Repetition is key, and you will reap life from what you sow in God’s Word!

Have any tips for memorizing? I’d love to hear them! What verses are you committing to memorize? Psalm 25 is on my list. Here we go! Maybe I’ll start by singing the Awana song…

Leave a Reply

